Seven 1996 Finalists Survive All-Star “Grilling”

Written by Team USA. Posted in Team USA News

Published on August 15, 1996 with No Comments

Aug 15, 1996
The Valvoline Team USA Scholarship continues to gain in stature. At Mid-Ohio last Saturday evening, during the Miller 200 IndyCar weekend, seven potential candidates for the 1996 Scholarship award underwent a rigorous test as they were interviewed by an illustrious panel of judges which included IndyCar drivers (and previous Scholarship winners) Jimmy Vasser and Bryan Herta; IndyCar President Andrew Craig; and team owners Barry Green and Bruce McCaw.

The finalists are, in alphabetical order: Alex Barron, Derek Hill, Steve Knapp, Allen May, Tony Renna, Bryan Selby and Matt Sielsky.

“I was extremely impressed by all the drivers,” said Craig, who recently pledged his support to the Team USA program. “They were all extremely polished and professional. Any of them would do credit to their country and the Scholarship.”

The winner of the 1996 Scholarship, to be announced during the PPG Cup season finale at Laguna Seca in early September, will represent the United States in the Formula Opel European Union Series Nations Cup event to be held at Donington Park, England, on November 2/3.

Two races will be held during the weekend, with each of 16 countries represented by a two-car team. Jerry Nadeau, who won the Team USA Scholarship in 1993, finishing a sensational fourth in the Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch – and is one of the front-runners in this year’s Formula Opel series – will drive a second “Stars & Stripes” car.

Note: The Scholarship program has received a substantial boost with the news that officials and participants in both the PPG-Firestone Indy Lights Championship and the Player’s/Toyota Atlantic Championship have expressed a strong desire to provide test-drive opportunities for the finalists and previous alumni. Further details will be made available soon.

Share this Article